Trump is 11th president to be kicked out of White House after a single term – and the first in almost 30 years

DONALD Trump has become the 11th president to join the list of one-term presidents who failed to get re-elected after their first term.

Trump is the first person to join the dreaded club, which started with founding father John Adams, since George H.W. Bush’s loss to Bill Clinton in 1992.

Getty Images – Getty

Donald Trump became the 11th president to be kicked out after his first term[/caption]

Getty Images – Getty

John Adams was the first president not to be re-elected to a second term[/caption]

Adams, the only president elected under the Federalist Party, was a leader of the American Revolution and the first to live in White House.

However, Adams received widespread criticism from his own Federalist Party and Jeffersonian Republicans for signing the Alien and Sedition Acts — and clashing with veep Thomas Jefferson and Treasury Secretary Alexander Hamilton.

Adams served from 1797 until 1801 after he came in third during the election behind his successor and friend, Jefferson, and Aaron Burr.

Adams’ son, John Quincy Adams, became the second president to fail to win reelection after serving as president from 1825 to 1829.

Getty Images – Getty

John Quincy Adams was the second president not to be re-elected to a second term[/caption]

John Quincy Adams became president when he placed second in a four-way race – losing to Andrew Jackson.

But John Quincy Adams was made president when House Speaker Henry Clay, who placed fourth, threw his support behind him.

Clay then became Adams’ Secretary of State, a move Jackson hailed as a “corrupt bargain” and vowed to best him a rematch four years later.

Getty Images – Getty

Martin Van Buren was the third president not to be re-elected to a second term[/caption]

Martin Van Buren, a founder of the Democratic Party, served as the 8th president from 1837 to 1841.

However, the economy crashed during his presidency and he became the third president to fail to win re-election when he was defeated by William Henry Harrison — another one-term president, who died from pneumonia after serving only a month in office.

Franklin Pierce, a northern Democrat believed the abolition of slavery was a fundamental threat to the unity of the nation, served as the 14th president from 1853 to 1857 but failed to win re-election when his party nominated a different candidate – who then lost to James Buchanan.

Buchanan, a Federalist-turned-Democrat who served as 15th president from 1857 to 1861, made and kept a promise to only serve on term as president.

Getty Images – Getty

Grover Cleveland served two terms as president, though not consecutively, so was not included in the count[/caption]

Getty Images – Getty

Benjamin Harrison was the fifth president to not win re-election, losing to Cleveland who ran for his second term[/caption]

Grover Cleveland, a Democrat, served two non-consecutive terms as the 22nd and 24th president of the United States from 1885 to 1889 and again from 1893 to 1897 — so is not included in the count.

After his first term as president, Cleveland lost re-election to Benjamin Harrison, the grandson of William Henry Harrison. But Benjamin Harrison became the fifth president to lose re-election when Cleveland won his second term four years later.

Getty Images – Getty

William Howard Taft did not win re-election, losing to Woodrow Wilson when Theodore Roosevelt split the vote[/caption]

William Howard Taft, a Republican who served as 27th president from 1909 to 1913, later served as Chief Justice of the United States after he was defeated for re-election by Woodrow Wilson in 1912 when predecessor Theodore Roosevelt split the vote by running as a third-party candidate.

Getty Images – Getty

Herbert Hoover became the seventh president not to win re-election[/caption]

Herbert Hoover, a Republican who served as 31st president from 1929 to 1933, has often been described as one of the worst presidents of history and held office during the onset of the Great Depression.

Hoover was walloped – losing the 1932 election to Franklin D. Roosevelt by an electoral college vote count of 59 to 472 and became the seventh president not win re-election.

Getty Images – Getty

Gerald Ford became the eighth president to lose re-election [/caption]

Jimmy Carter was the ninth president to lose re-election

Gerald Ford became the 38th president when he assumed the presidency after the resignation of Richard Nixon. Ford, who served as president from 1974 to 1977, reluctantly agreed to run for re-election but lost to Jimmy Carter and became the eighth to lose re-election.

Carter, a Democrat who was president during the Iran hostage crisis, served from 1977 to 1981 but lost his re-election bid to Ronald Reagan, becoming the ninth president to lose re-election.

Time Life Pictures

George H.W. Bush was the tenth president to lose re-election[/caption]

Republican George H.W. Bush, who served after Reagan, lost re-election to Bill Clinton after his presidency was plagued by a recession — becoming the tenth to lose re-election.

Several other presidents only served one terms – but not for reelection failures.

John Tyler, who served as the tenth president from 1841 to 1845 after he was elected under the Whig ticket, launched a constitutional crisis when he became the first vice president to ascend to the office after William Henry Harrison died.

The constitution failed to spell out if the vice president would become president or merely an acting president, but Congress later confirmed Tyler was president with both title and powers of office.

The creation of the “Tyler Precedent” for succession existed until the 25th Amendment codified the policies for succession.

President James K. Polk, a Democrat who succeeded Tyler, also only served one term after he kept a promise to decline to seek reelection.

His successor Zachary Taylor, a Whig who became the last president not elected from either the Republican or Democratic Party, also served one term until he died of stomach disease.

Rutherford B. Hayes, who served as 19th president from 1877 to 1881, was an abolitionist who honored his pledge to serve only one term and was succeeded by James Garfield.

Garfield, who served as 20th president after winning election under the Republican ticket, was assassinated by Charles J. Guiteau six and a half months into his first term.

He was succeeded by Chester A. Arthur, another one-term president who served from 1881 to 1885 – but retired at the end of his term because of poor health.

Warren G. Harding, a Republican who was elected president in 1921, served until his death in 1923 – which doctors attributed to cerebral hemorrhage.

John F. Kennedy, the 35th president of the United States, was assassinated in 1963 during his first term as president.

Presidents Abraham Lincoln and William McKinley were both reelected and assassinated during their second terms.

Andrew Johnson, a Democrat who assumed the presidency after Lincoln was assassinated, served as president from 1865 until 1869 when he became the first president impeached.

Nixon, who was also impeached, resigned during his second term as president and did not complete two full terms.

Harry Truman became the 34th president after Franklin D. Roosevelt died and served a partial term before serving a second full term.

Most other presidents served two full consecutive terms – except Franklin D. Roosevelt, who served three.


(Visited 13 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply