Who are the BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2018 nominees, and what are the other awards?

BBC’S Sports Personality of the Year returns with Sir Mo Farah beating Jonathan Rea and Jonnie Peacock last year.

Unlike in previous years, the nominees were not released until the evening of the ceremony.

Harry Kane is among the favourites for the Sports Personality of the Year crown after a sensational 2018 with England
Getty Images – Getty

Who are the nominees for the BBC SPOTY 2018?

It has been an incredible 12 months for British sport, with England’s run at the World Cup, along with a good year for British cycling, Formula 1 and boxing.

The nominees are:

  • James Anderson (Cricket)
  • Dina Asher-Smith (Athletics)
  • Harry Kane (Football)
  • Lewis Hamilton (Formula 1)
  • Geraint Thomas (Cycling)
  • Lizzy Yarnold (Skeleton)

What other awards are on offer?

While all eyes will be on the winner of the Sports Personality title, there are numerous honours also being dished out.

The BBC Young Sports Personality of the Year has already been decided with para-athlete Kare Adengan beating the likes of Freya Anderson, Ryan Sessegnon and James Bowen to the title.

The other awards and nominees are as follows:

Sports Personality Greatest Sporting Moment of the Year

  • England’s historic netball gold at the Commonwealth Games
  • England win penalty shootout at Football World Cup
  • Alastair Cook’s farewell century
  • Tiger Woods’ first win in five years
  • Tyson Fury fights back from knockdowns against Deontay Wilder

Sports Personality World Sport Star of the Year

  • Simone Biles (Gymnastics)
  • Ester Ledecka (Skiing and snowboarding)
  • Francesco Molinari (Golf)
  • Oleksandr Usyk (Boxing)

Sports Personality Coach of the Year

  • Gareth Southgate – England football manager

Sports Personality Team of the Year

Young Sports Personality of the Year

  1. Kare Adengan (Para-athlete)
  2. Freya Anderson (Swimming)
  3. James Bowen (Horse racing)

Sports Personality of the Year Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Billie Jean King, women’s tennis legend and winner of the famous Battle of the Sexes match against Bobby Riggs in 1973.

Sports Personality of the Year Helen Rollason Award

  • Billy Monger will claim honour after fighting back from having both of his legs amputated to race in British Formula 3 Championship

Get Inspired Unsung Hero Award

  • Kirsty Ewen for her volunteering efforts in swimming at the Inverness Swimming Club and at the London 2012 Olympics, Glasgow 2014 Commonwealth Games and 2018 European Championships.


(Visited 43 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply