Who is Olatunji ‘Ola’ Yearwood? X Factor 2018 contestant and Soca artist from Trinidad

OLA is from Trinidad and Tobago and he quickly makes a strong connection with the audience and the judges.

He claims that he’s come to the UK to represent Calypso and Soca and sings an original song called Bodyline. Here’s the lowdown on the energetic performer…

Olatunji Yearwood hopes to immerse the X Factor audience into Soca music
Olatunji Yearwood hopes to immerse the X Factor audience into Soca music
Rex Features

Who is Olatunji Yearwood?

Olatunji Yearwood was born in Trinidad on September 3rd, 1985 and he’s a Soca artist.

He’s won multiple talent shows while still in his teens, including the national Junior Calypso Monarch competition.

He became a local household name when he won Trinidad’s famous Soca Groovy Monarch/International Soca Monarch in 2015, performing his blockbuster single “Ola.”

He is the very last International Groovy Soca Monarch champion, as the competition’s format was changed in 2016 to exclude that category.

Yearwood was featured in The Fader Magazine as the face of AfroSoca music, an emerging genre that fuses Soca and Afrobeats.

On the X Factor stage he performs one of his own tracks entitled Bodyline. But will he impress the judges?

Who are this year’s X Factor judges?

The judging panel for the fifteenth series of the show has seen a major overhaul.

Simon Cowell remains but all three other judges have been replaced.

That means that Nicole ScherzingerLouis Walsh and Sharon Osbourne are no longer on the panel.

Instead they have been replaced by Louis Tomlinson, Robbie Williams and his wife Ayda Field. Sharon Osbourne will also help out during the live shows.

The X Factor 2018 judging panel

When does The X Factor 2018 start?

The X Factor makes its big return on Saturday, September 1, at 8pm on ITV.

It will be followed by another show on Sunday at the same time.

After the first week, it will air every Saturday and Sunday from then on.

Last year’s contest was won by Rak-Su who triumphed in the final over Grace Davies.


(Visited 52 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply